All the bright places by Jennifer Niven

Hi guys,

After my first ever post here, I thought I’d kick things off with a book review ☺ This is completely spoiler free (doesn’t contain any spoilers).

First off – here is a synopsis, which is on the blurb of the book.

Theodore Finch wants to take his own life. Violet Markey is devastated by her sisters death. They meet on the ledge of the school bell tower and their story begins. It’s only together that they can be themselves. As Violet’s world grows, Finch’s shrinks. How far will Violet go to save the boy she has come to love?

This was such a beautiful, eye opening book. It is told in the narrative of both Finch and Violet which gives you a full glimpse of the whole story. It is raw, real and the writing style had me turning the pages so fast. It is now one of my all time favourite contemporary standalone and regardless of what you may think this story is far from clichéd. It is real and applicable as well as targets a dark topic, suicide. I loved the character Violet as she was heartbroken and sincere about her sisters passing but her character development has you loving her character. Finch is also an amazingly talented boy who eventually saves Violet and your heart will soar when reading his narrative.

At the end of this novel, I was left destroyed by words on a page. Words that both moved me and frustrated me. I had to close the book and breathe before I continued on…only to cry my eyeballs out unto my friend’s copy of this beauty. If there’s one book you read this year, it’s this one. No exaggeration. No lies. Just a pure honest story.
image

Till next time

P.s. share and comment

Leave a Reply

